School Logo

Rayleigh Primary School

Respecting ourselves, others and our future

Interactive bar

Get in touch

Contact Details


Schools for Every Child has different levels of Governance.

Members - The top level of governance over the whole trust.

Trustees - This is the strategic board for the whole trust.

Local School Board - This is our school board of governors. 

The School Board

Rayleigh Primary School operates a local school board. Those elected to the school board serve in a voluntary capacity. They are either elected by the parents or their fellow teachers or are co-opted.

The post of clerk to the governing body is reconfirmed annually, as are the appointments of the chair and vice-chair.


The chair is Mr Gary Rogers and the vice-chair is Mr Matthew O'Leary. 


Local School Board Membership
Mr. G RogersChair Co-opted Governor
Mr. M O'Leary Vice-ChairCo-opted Governor
Mrs. L Maughan Co-opted Governor
Mr. P Antonioni Staff Governor
Mrs. L Swindell Parent Governor
Vacancy Parent Governor
Miss J Milner Headteacher
Mrs. J Pickering Link Trustee


Terms of Office:

Co-opted Governors - 4 years

Elected Parent Governors - 3 years

Elected Staff Governors - 1 year


Pecuniary Interests: None


The governors are responsible for:


  • Helping establish (with the headteacher) the aims and policies of the school
  • Determining how standards can be maintained and improved
  • Deciding the conduct of the school
  • Helping to draw up (with the Headteacher and staff) the school development plan
  • Helping to decide how to spend the school’s budget
  • Making sure the National Curriculum and RE are taught
  • Appointing, promoting and supporting staff
  • Acting as a link between the local community and the school
  • Drawing up an action plan after inspection and monitoring its progress


The school board currently meets once each term to conduct the general business of the school. Its committees meet more regularly and include the Education Committee and Operations Committee.